Philadelphia Embassy of The Kingdoms of Elgaland-Vargaland (KREV), Oct. 14-15


The Philadelphia Embassy of the Kingdoms of Elgaland-Vargaland was a huge success this past October 14-15. I can’t thank enough the many people who helped make it happen. Stay tuned to our project website for updates in December ’16 and January ’17, including the the public launch of the official Catalog, which will be on sale along side the Official KREV Coloring Book.

Performance/Broadcast: LANALOG

Mike Bullock and Linda Aubry Bullock’s “Lanalog” was a six-hour performance and broadcast event on WGXC 90.7 FM, taking place on 8 August 2015 and originating at Wave Farm in Acra, NY. Lanalog used FM, AM, and natural acoustic to connect performers and video projections located around the Wave Farm buildings and property. The piece explores interference, feedback, and contingency of site; confronts the uneasy relationship of signal to noise in the rural airwaves; and addresses our fading memories of analog television and the uncertain future of analog radio.

Lanalog at Wave Farm, August 2015 from Mike Bullock on Vimeo.

Wave Farm Residency, 31 July – 9 August


Linda* and I will be artists in residence at Wave Farm in the Hudson Valley, starting a week from today. On 8 August we will be premiering a new performance/installation called Lanalog, featuring live performers, sounding porcelain, and – true to the spirit of Transmission Arts central to Wave Farm – AM, FM, shortwave, WiFi, video, and acoustic transmissions up and down the hillside and across the ponds and meadows.

I first did something with Galen and Tom way back in 2000 when they were Free 103.9 FM in Brooklyn, when I played an improvised music gig at their loft, the kickoff of my first tour ever as an improviser. Many thanks to them for inviting us to be a part of the truly remarkable facility – and deep history – of Wave Farm.

Lanalog is our third porcelain-based intermedia installation piece since the fall, after For Violet Oakley (Rotunda, Philadelphia, in October) and Lagan (Vox Populi, Philly, in April).

*aka Aubry Arts – look her up on Instagram!: @aubry_arts

Performance Grant from the Pew Center for Arts and Heritage


In June 2015 I was awarded a 2015 Performance Grant from the Pew Center for Arts & Heritage. I’m pretty blown away and very excited to get to work on this. October 2016 will see the Inauguration of The Philadelphia Embassy of the Kingdoms of Elgaland-Vargaland at Crane Arts. And the best part is, I get to work with some of my favorite artists who also happen to be some of my favorite people.

From the Pew Center Website:

“Composer Mike Bullock presents the inauguration of the Philadelphia Embassy of the international art project, The Kingdoms of Elgaland-Vargaland (KREV).

“The event will include an exhibition of KREV-themed videos and ephemera such as flags, stamps, and tableware, and a station for participants to apply for KREV “citizenship,” complete with passports. The culmination of the inauguration is a concert of electronic music and visuals, featuring performances by Bullock, Pew Fellow Bhob Rainey, Ian M Fraser, the Swedish group Sons of God, and conceptual artist Carl Michael von Hausswolff.”

Gallery hours will be held October 14-15 from 12-8 p.m. The opening ceremony begins at 2 p.m. on October 15, followed by the concert at 8 p.m. This event is free; please RSVP by following the link to the Eventbrite page from our KREV PHL page.

It’s an honor to be included in a frankly mind-blowing array of artists and organizations receiving grants and fellowships. Here’s the complete list.

Three shows in late May


In Late May, I’m playing three concerts in three states on two instruments. If you are in Boston, St. Paul, or Brooklyn, I hope to see you soon.

Wed 20 May: Modular synth solo at Boston, MA’s Waterworks Museum. I’ll be playing a new piece called “Emulation WW.” Opening for “Violin, Viola, Cello,” a new work by violinist Morgan Evans-Weiler, with David Michael Curry (viola) and Vic Rawlings (cello).
Friday 22 May: Modular solo on Jesse Goin’s Crow With No Mouth series in St. Paul, MN. Also on the bill is Asher Tuil in an exceedingly rare live appearance.
Monday 25 May: One of my favorite recurring projects, my contrabass duo with Andrew Lafkas, will be playing at Middle Press in Brooklyn, NY. Andrew and I will also play solo sets.